Glamorgan CCC is Wales’ sole representative in the world of county cricket. Formed in 1888, the Club at first faced some difficult years before joining the Minor County Championship in 1897. After a series of successful summers, they were admitted into the first-class game in 1921 but this initially proved a massive step for the Cardiff-based club to take, as defeats became more commonplace than victories. However, after overcoming financial uncertainties in the 1930s, and the loss of their influential captain, Maurice Turnbull, during the Second World War, Glamorgan won the County Championship title in 1948 under Wilf Wooller besides providing a series of players for England teams.
The good times continued in the 1960s when they defeated the Australians on back-to-back tours, and lifted the County Championship title again in 1969 under Tony Lewis. Further silverware came Glamorgan’s way during the 1990s as they won the Sunday League in 1993 before Matthew Maynard led them to a third Championship in 1997.
During the 2000s, the Welsh side lifted the one-day title again in 2002 and 2004, before embarking on a successful stadium development scheme at their headquarters which saw Test cricket come to Wales in July 2009 as Cardiff hosted the Ashes Test between England and Australia. Changing Faces – Glamorgan CCC 1888-2012 celebrates the people who have taken the Club on this remarkable journey and who have worn the Club’s colours with pride and distinction.
Using a series of team photographs and group images from the Club’s archives – many of which have never been previously published – this is a fascinating collection that will greatly appeal to Glamorgan supporters and lovers of Welsh sport in general.
Andrew Hignell is archivist to Glamorgan CCC, and the leading authority on the history of cricket in Wales. He has previously written several books on Glamorgan CCC.
Dimensions: 235 x 165 mm
Illustrations: 92 b/w and 92 colour photographs